Many thanks to all of the entrants who submitted poems into the various categories of Wigtown Poetry Prize 2022.


We are delighted to announce the shortlists as follows:


Wigtown Prize


William Hershaw

Suzanna Fitzpatrick

Julie Laing

Craig Aitchison

Rin Norte


Wigtown Scottish Gaelic Prize


Martin MacIntyre (x2 entries)

Ian Macrae

Rody Gorman (x2 entries)



Wigtown Scots Prize


Irene Howat

Craig Aitchison

Robert Duncan

Joan Fraser

Colin Mackenzie



Dumfries & Galloway Fresh Voice Award


Sara Pitt

Andrew Murray

Gwen Dupre

Jane McBeth


Alastair Reid Pamphlet Prize


Milena Williamson

Wes Lee

Bridget Khursheed

Neil Thomson

Sarah Leavesley

Roger West

Peter Daniels

Laura Brown




The winners and runners-up will be announced on 1 October 2022, at the Prize Giving event taking place at Wigtown Book Festival on Saturday 1 October.  Tickets can be booked here.